Weekends, Hockey and Lots of Good Food


One of PLAN’s Lifetime Members and their family are currently looking to hire a new respite provider for about one weekend per month. The young woman is looking for someone to support her and share some parts of her life with. She has been living with her parents but have decided that it’s time for to step out and gain some further independence. 

Here is her letter:

Hi There! I’m a young woman looking for someone to support me and share some parts of my life with (right now I’m thinking I’d be at your place a weekend a month). I’ve been living with my parents but have decided that it’s time for me to step out and gain some further independence.

I really enjoy watching Canucks hockey games and am an avid fan. I would love to have someone who would enjoy watching with me! I also enjoy fashion and really like joking around. Eating great food is one of my greatest passions and I’d like to try out some new places or recipes together. I’d be happy to help you in the kitchen with the tasks I’m able to do. I love to go out in my modified kayak and I really enjoy having stories read to me. I need significant support in various aspects of my life and am looking for someone who would like to share their home with me part-time and be a support for me while I’m there.

When I think about what I hope your home would be, first and foremost I need somewhere that I can access with my power wheelchair. I don’t necessarily need to use it once I’m inside, but I would need somewhere safe to store/charge it. I love animals and would be delighted to get to know yours. My parents live near Kerrisdale and I’m hoping you will live within the city so it’s not too far away.

I’m looking for someone who would be able to help me get up and ready in the morning and assist me to get ready and into bed at night. I also would need your support with meals. I have some personal hygiene needs that I require assistance with as well.

Typically I’m a pretty late night person, and ideally I’m looking for a night owl for when I still have energy later in the evenings.

I’m supported by an agency so they’ll help me to sort out the details of us connecting and getting things going.

I’m very flexible, but as I said, initially I’m looking for someone who could share their home with me for a “long weekend” a month (Friday afternoon – Monday afternoon). If that exact time frame doesn’t work but you’re interested – please still let me know and we’ll see what we could work out! Of course, since I’ll be eating your food and keeping you busy you’ll be compensated $500 per weekend (3 days) we are together.

If you’re interested and would like to know more, please respond with a resume and a paragraph telling me a little bit about yourself and why you’d like to connect. Look forward to hearing from you.

Responses can be sent to: personnel@spectrumsociety.org with the subject line “Application to Posting 16-015.”